Diana Gamage loses Parliamentary seat after SC ruling

Diana Gamage loses Parliamentary seat after SC ruling

The Supreme Court of Sri Lanka has determined that State Minister of Tourism Diana Gamage is not eligible to hold a seat in the Parliament of Sri Lanka. 

The verdict was issued by the three-judge bench comprised of Justices Gamini Amarasekara, Kumuduni Wickremasinghe and Janak de Silva when the petition filed against State Minister Gamage was taken up for consideration today.

Delivering their verdict, the justices held that Diana Gamage was not eligible to hold an MP post. 

Diana Gamage’s citizenship and right to hold a Parliamentary seat were challenged by a writ petition filed by civil activist Oshala Herath.

In his writ petition, the civil activist sought a ruling that Diana Gamage was unqualified to serve as a Member of the Sri Lankan Parliament due to her British citizenship.

Counsel Hafeel Farisz with Nishika Fonseka and Shannon Thilekaratne appeared for Petitioner Oshala Herath, while Farman Cassim PC appeared for the Samagi Jana Balawegaya. 

Former Member of Parliament Mujibur Rahman of the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) is nominated to fill the vacant parliamentary seat after the Supreme Court disqualified State Minister Diana Gamage from holding an MP seat.

Speaking during today’s parliamentary session, Leader of the Opposition Sajith Premadasa announced that this decision will be communicated to the Election Commission.